Orpheus with pianist Khatia Buniatishvili

Orpheus Crop

Friday / January 29, 2016 / 8 p.m.

Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
Khatia Buniatishvili, piano

Click here to buy ticketsOnly the pioneering Orpheus Chamber Orchestra could conceive a program that reflects on a musical lineage beginning with Haydn’s Symphony No. 1 and ending at Rachmaninoff’s Suite No. 2. Along the way, Mozart’s impassioned Piano Concerto No. 20 inspires Tchaikovsky, whom Anton Arensky honors in his Variations on a Theme. Rachmaninoff, who received formative lessons in harmony from Arensky, provides the Suite No. 2 for Two Pianos, newly arranged for orchestra by Paul Chihara. The exciting young Georgian pianist Khatia Buniatishvili, recipient of Arthur Rubinstein and Tbilisi International Piano Competition awards, makes her Orpheus debut.

Khatia 1111Program: Haydn / Symphony No. 1 in D major; Mozart / Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K.466; Arensky / Variations on a Theme by Tchaikovsky; Rachmaninoff / Suite No. 2 for Two Pianos, Op. 17 (arr. Paul Chihara).

Tickets: $33

Curate your own season. Purchase tickets to four performances and save 10% off single ticket prices. Purchase tickets to five performances and save 15%.

The J. Mahlon and Grace Buck Fund Concert.